Snohomish, Washington-Ingenious Village

My wish was granted and I was able to soak in a bit of sunshine in-between a fair deal of serious shopping.
This was my second time coming to Snohomish with my relatives…and it was by my request that we returned to this quint little town. My trip through this little gem last summer was lovely, and I left with heavy bags and a deep sigh of satisfaction.
This time I think I left with even heavier bags….due to the weight of my loot as well as the history behind several purchases.

I stumbled upon a steamer trunk with dangling gloves, so beautifully kept, that I almost wept at the sight of them.
The lovely antique store by the name of Red Rooster, had acquired the entire life’s collection of hand gloves which belonged to a woman three generations past. The woman that kindly wrapped up my treasures surmised that the gloves dated around 1880-1890…..all I could think was wow…that is practically Jane Austin Era material.
The pair that had small rose buds embroidered on them still had a small stamp on the inside stating “Made in France”….when was the last time anything I purchased in the United States said, that I mussed to myself.
Sadly the gloves were sized for a hand of 6 and 3/4….my fingers are a wee bit beyond fitting these little beauties, but I can live with that…they will be cooed at around my house instead.
In some ways I’m mourning the fact that I did not buy the entire collection, I feel as if I have split up the family, taking only a few of the children and leaving those left behind to be discovered by other excited parents. How incredibly apropos of this world around me, rarely is it possible to keep a collection together, in one piece.

I also fell in love with several tobacco tins of times past. It was an interesting combination of trinkets to take home with me….hand gloves and vintage tobacco tins.

Steamer Trunk with Glove collection (for sale at Red Rooster)

20120625-013726.jpg

Riding in style (for sale at Red Rooster)

20120625-012938.jpg

Historically Significant

20120625-125723.jpg

Effervescent Glove Wash

20120625-130122.jpg

Rusted Beauty

20120625-105351.jpg

After I thoroughly combed through the Red Rooster, we headed over to the Snohomish Bakery for lunch. I had a small love affair with my hazelnut cappuccino and gluten free chocolate macaroons.

Afternoon Delight

20120625-090547.jpg

Feeling sustained and ready for a bit more action in the trenches we hit the shops again. I fell into a store called Joyworks….and it was a bit like Alice entering the looking glass, time stood still. It felt like I had entered a nesting doll store, with layer upon layer of lovely little trinkets and decor.
The store had raw linen tablecloths, bird nests with little eggs, beautiful swaths of silky scarves, pillows that screamed beach cottage, seductive French soaps….and anything else you can think of that tickles the soul, and soothes the senses. It was a challenge to not walk out with the entire place under my arm….so instead I settled for linen, glass, and bird eggs.
I will post pics later of the linen in our home environment.

Mannequin Amazement

20120625-090846.jpg

Sperry’s in Action

20120625-102715.jpg

So Many Baubles

20120625-104936.jpg

While we were lunching I saw a floating red kimono float by the window. I threw down my lunch and ran out the door. This gorgeous woman indulged my requests to flag her down and take a few photographs.
She was absolutely lovely and I found her attire and mannerisms inspiring.

Floating Red

20120625-105651.jpg

Looking Glass

20120625-110258.jpg

Later on we finished off the afternoon with an ice cream treat in Mukilteo, along the water front. After so many gelato afternoons in Italy, I was excited to have a 4pm gelato…with a twist of “American-ness” thrown in (soft serve with fudge).
On our way to consume our treat, I spotted a trio of ladies behind me that we’re beautifully dressed. It was definitely a case of ladies afternoon out.

All Dressed Up

20120625-131251.jpg

If you have the chance I recommend checking out Red Rooster Antiques

redrooster~antiques.com

Also check out the blog for Joyworks

joyworks-shopgirl.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

